In The Begining


Finally, today is the day I not only have my own blog, but I also have something to blog about. Before I begin to ramble however, please note that this is my first blog so please be kind–I’m not an author or a writer.

So what happened in the beginning? We received our first assignment right off the bat: find any image with an subject that can be suitably extracted from the background and extract it. A pretty easy assignment considering my prior experience with photoshop–not so easy however considering the half hour or so it took to actually extract this bugger. For the most part, I used the same processes & techniques to create each compositions. Most of the cool abstract looking images were a result of using interesting & unnatural colors as well as some of the more cheezy filters (I like them).

Assignment1 - GreatWhite

This is the original image I used to create the compositions below.

Assignment1 - GreatWhite - 0

This was the first image I created after extracting the shark from the watery background in my original image. It’s kind of nice but it’s still a little drab. The only filter used was on the background to make it look more like it was painted (brush like texture).

Assignment1 - GreatWhite - 1

This image I created using a variety of different techniques. I was originally going for a mollecular like experience. On both the shark & the background I adjusted the brightness & contrast alot as well as used the curves option. I then followed up with an interesting glowing edges filter to give the background it’s plasma like appeal. For the shark I changed the hue to make it glow & stand out from the plasma like background.

Assignment1 - GreatWhite - 2

I especially like this composition because I think it represents the mind of a hunter. Strong, bold, and a relentless hunger for the kill.

Assignment1 - GreatWhite - 3

I think this image is pretty interesting as I was kinda going for a monument type feeling with the concrete shark and the flag like background.

Assignment1 - GreatWhite - 4

Everybody except for me loves this image the most. I guess it’s because of the logo type appeal and the awsome fluidity of the image. To create this composition, I just liquified my shark object & put it on a stellar jimmy Hendrix looking background.

Assignment1 - GreatWhite - 5

I really like this image because I think it represents the reality faced by most of the worlds shark species today. Sharks are like gold to money hungry fisherman who are completely stripping the seas of these beautiful, natural predators.

Assignment1 - GreatWhite - 6

a1-8

Alright, here comes the rambling. Does the great white, most feared of all sea creatures by humans, fear anything himself? Come to think of it, this question though interesting spawns an even more significant question: Do all animals, big and small, have the same capacity to fear and cower away from life as we humans do? Before a great white attacks, does he hesitate or is he completely fixated on his mission. Does nothing else exist during the chase except for the pleasing notion that dinner is about to be served? I highly doubt it! I’m quite convinced that the great white, or any other shark for that matter, is just as likely to hesitate given the right situation. Maybe it’s all a matter of experience?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

